Skip to: top navigation | main navigation | main content

Date 23 October 2018
Title What is Hazcom?
Organiser Intertek
Location Online Webinar
Details

The term “Hazcom” is frequently used in the chemical world, but what does it mean? Hazard communication, or Hazcom for short, has historically been associated with the combined use of safety data sheets (SDS), labels, and training to protect the health and safety of workers when using chemicals in the workplace. The phrase was coined in the US after the introduction of the Hazard Communication Standard in the 1980’s. During this time, many other countries around the world were implementing similar programs with different names, such as the Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System (WHMIS) in Canada.

In recent years, Hazcom has become the global term to describe the communication of chemical hazards to users, not just within workplaces, but to consumers. Each jurisdiction has its own name for the regulatory requirements for the protection of workers and consumers from chemical hazards, but all fall under the umbrella of hazard communication. Information provided to protect workers and consumers is also used by transportation services, assist in the safe transport and emergency response personnel if there is a chemical emergency.

Please join us as we provide an overview of global Hazcom regulations and share our practical experiences.

What is Hazcom?
Complimentary Webinar
Date: October 23, 2018 | 10am EDT, 3pm BST, 4pm CEST

Don’t miss the opportunity to learn from our experts. Register here.

Further Information